Urban Centres

A map of the Goulburn Broken Catchment highlighting some of the catchment's urban centres, including: Cobram, Yarrawonga, Kyabram, Shepparton, Benalla, Euroa, Rushworth, Seymour, Kilmore, Yea, Alexandra and Mansfield.
Figure 28: The Urban Centres local area

Vision: Urban Centres offer employment, facilities and services for residents while valuing the natural environment.

Urban Centres are the smallest sub-catchment system by area, but contain the largest populations (Figure 28). They are defined by a concentration of people, services and industries. The major urban centres are Shepparton, Seymour, Benalla, Kilmore and Yarrawonga.

The catchment’s abundant food and water resources were first enjoyed by the Yorta Yorta and Taungurung Clans and the many cultural sites in urban areas indicate the area’s importance to Traditional Owners.

The population living in urban centres has increased by 50% since 1981, with 74% of the total catchment population now living in a town, and a further 17% living in the urban fringe and dependent on towns for employment.

The growth has not been consistent across all towns with variation influenced by factors such as town size, planning constraints, proximity to water or hills, proximity to facilities and employment, dependence on industries with declining or growing employment and bushfires.

Towns are valued for the range of services and opportunities they offer such as employment, education, support, infrastructure, retail, healthcare and sporting.

Urban communities are very diverse and connected by employment, sporting and social groups, but may not be strongly connected to the natural environment. This connection is changing with developments capitalising on the natural environment and a growing number of people enjoying nature-based recreation.

Show your support

Pledge your support for the Goulburn Broken Regional Catchment Strategy and its implementation.