Agricultural Floodplains

A map of the Agricultural Floodplains local area in relation to the Goulburn Broken Catchment. It occupies the north west corner of the catchment, covering the Shepparton Irrigation Region.
Figure 18: The Agricultural Floodplains local area

Vision: The Agricultural Floodplains community leads Australia in producing food in harmony with the environment.

The Agricultural Floodplains encompass the Shepparton Irrigation Region and the north-eastern parts of the catchment to the Murray River (Figure 18). It includes the towns of Shepparton, Cobram, Nathalia, Yarrawonga, Tatura, Kyabram, Tongala and Numurkah.

The region has a rich Aboriginal heritage and a First Nations population of more than 6,000, the largest in regional Victoria.

Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation, which includes 8 clans, has statutory responsibilities for managing traditional cultural heritage and Crown land in Yorta Yorta Country. The balance of the area to the west is under the umbrella of the Taungurung Land and Waters Council.

The arrival of Europeans in the mid-1800s, soldier settlement schemes and more recent international migrants have added to a culturally diverse community.

The changing land use has included clearing for dryland and irrigation farming, construction of irrigation and drainage networks and urban settlement. These have seriously impacted the area’s biodiversity, with most of the remaining habitat and vegetation along waterways and roadsides.

Show your support

Pledge your support for the Goulburn Broken Regional Catchment Strategy and its implementation.